Beauty is in the Smokey Eye of the Beholder

Today I couldn’t think of something to write about but WordPress has an “inspire me” link. It instructed me to Google a word and pick the eleventh photo to write about. I thought that was a pretty cool idea so I gave it a try.

I chose to Google the word “beautiful.” I have always found there to be a connection with beauty and fashion because when I feel the best in my fashion I feel beautiful. Instead of flawless models filling my screen, it was scenery pictures.
   

And here is number eleven

It gave me a whole new perspective. Beauty, they say, is in the eye of the beholder. I guess the beholder of Google images prefers beauty as scenes rather than fashion and style.

However, when I typed in the word “beauty” this came up…

 

And number eleven

Sometimes when I think of Beauty I think of this

One of my close friends is literally so big (muscle) so I had this great idea for him to dress up as the Beast (because he’s huge) and for me to dress up as Belle (because I’m a princess!) for Halloween. I thought it was HILARIOUS but that’s just my lame humor…PS. we didn’t go through with it

I am always talking about fashion and style, but beauty is a part of that too! So today, let’s talk about hair and makeup!

Makeup may not be my specialty, since I only consider it to be mascara, eyeliner and lipstick but I do know a little and, of course, have my own Pinterest board!

I love eye makeup. I don’t do it every day, but on mornings I have a lot of time or for special occasions, I am ALL about it!

I prefer a natural look for eyes that doesn’t look like you’re wearing too much makeup, but does compliment you.

Pinned Image

Since I have a more olive skin tone, I love the way gold looks!

Pinned Image

I also found this picture of gold eyeliner! I would LOVE to try this for the Holidays or New Year’s!

Pinned Image

I also like sparkles for the Holidays too! Makeup is meant to be fun!

Pinned Image

Lastly, who doesn’t love the smokey eye?!

One thing I DO specialize in is nail polish! I try to ALWAYS have my nails and toes painted! Seriously, just ask my big! She gets so confused when my nails are blank! She even found a quote saying “If it doesn’t have to do with monograms or nail polish I’m probably not interested.” Right now I have on Miami Beat by OPI for my hands

and OPI’s Lincoln Park After Dark on my toes! Whoever said you have to match?!

I love having my toes painted dark because I can wear any color on my hands and I don’t have to worry about clashing.

For winter, I like reds and dark colors.

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

But I am ALWAYS a fan of Essie Marshmallow. I may be the only one but I think it goes with anything and everything for ANY time of the year!

The last thing to discuss today is hair! I LOVE the bun trend! It is so much easier to wear my hair up out of laziness but people think it looks so cute! It can be dressed up to look glamorous and elegant or casual to just look carefree and fun!

Pinned Image  Pinned Image

Pinned Image    Pinned Image

You’ve seen (in a previous post) Corrine rocking the bun with her school look! Now here’s a couple photos of how I wore it.

Image

I wore it with a black dress for the birthday of one of my sisters (and roommate!)

Here’s Erika and I rocking the same hairstyle on that same night

Image

And here is me (with my marshmallow nailpolish!!!) wearing it for a more casual event!

Image

The sock bun is SOOO easy to dress up or wear super casual. There are dozens of tutorials on YouTube so definitely give it a try!

The point of this post is to talk about beauty. Obviously we all have natural beauty but what fun is it to wake up and walk out the door to school, work, etc. (unless you woke up two seconds before you need to be there!) Makeup and hair styles are meant to be fun! They can compliment a person’s skin and face and/or the outfit!

Here is a more philosophical quote to end my post today. Whether it’s light or an open-mind, beauty is all about perspective. This is just a reminder of that!

One thought on “Beauty is in the Smokey Eye of the Beholder

Leave a Reply

