The Basics for Fall

During college, every girl needs the basics in her closet in order to survive. Basics for me include neutral color clothing that are usually meant for quality, not quantity. My basics are usually the pieces I spend the most on to ensure they will last forever. My Melissa Button-Back Frye boots were a little bit of a splurge but so worth it! They are able to help me tie together the majority of my fall outfits. I can just be wearing a simple white t-shirt and jeans but with these boots, it’s so much more fashionable!

Image

Other basics I feel are necessary are what you would expect: jeans (I prefer jeggings), white and black camis, white and black (as well as other colors) v-neck short and long sleeve shirts, black leggings, several cardigans (black, white, gray, red, blue, etc.) a good jacket and a key piece of jewelry.

As far as jackets go, I like to have a casual more sporty one and a fashionable pea coat. I am obsessed with my J.Crew purple Majesty Pea Coat and I’ll also wear my black Northface when I’m just going to class or running errands.

ImageImage

The other thing I will never leave the house without is my ring. It is my one key piece of jewelry that I feel fits with every outfit and is easy enough to wear plain or wear with other fashion jewelry.
My monogram ring was given to me by my parents for my 18th birthday and rarely has been taken off since!

Image

On most days I wear it as my only piece but other days I feel I can wear earrings, necklace or bracelets without it being too overpowering.

These are the basics I feel every girl needs in order to have a great wardrobe. From here, you can buy inexpensive fad pieces like fashion scarves, statement necklace, colored blazers to combine with the basics in order to have a great outfit! Here are a few examples which are styles I base my looks off of!

ImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

